ISO 3166-2 Newsletter Number I-2 was published on 2002-05-21. It changes the ISO code for Naxıvan from MM to NX. It also corrects the diacritical marks on four district names. Finally, it identifies the six rayons that are part of Naxıvan.

The UN LOCODE page  for Azerbaijan lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

As a result of the Nagorno-Karabakh War, most of its territory is now under the control of ethnic Armenian forces from Nagorno-Karabakh and Armenia.[2] The self-proclaimed Nagorno-Karabakh Republic (NKR) also controls a large part of southwestern Azerbaijan outside Nagorno-Karabakh. The Azerbaijani rayons completely or partially in the NKR are noted in the list. The NKR does not recognise these rayons and has its own system of administrative division.

ISO 3166-2 Newsletter II-3 is dated 2011-12-15. It makes a couple of adjustments to the list of rayons and to rayon names, and to the codes where appropriate. For specifics, see Change history.

Nakhchivan autonomous republic is a unit that incorporates the rayons of Babek, Julfa, Kangarli, Ordubad, Sedarak, Shahbuz, and Sherur, and Nakhchivan city. It has an ISO 3166-2 code, AZ-NX.

The list below is for the main part of Azerbaijan, excluding the rayons of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic.

The seven districts and one municipality of the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic are listed below.

The territory of Nagorno-Karabakh presently forms part of Azerbaijani rayons Khojavend, Shusha, Khojaly, the east portion of Kalbajar and the west portion of Tartar. In Soviet times the region was known as Nagorno-Karabakh Autonomous Oblast; however on November 26, 1991, the Parliament of the Azerbaijan SSR abolished the autonomous status of the NKAO. Since then the territory of the autonomous oblast has been administratively split between the aforementioned rayons.

Named for Atropates, one of Alexander the Great's generals

The rayons are further divided into municipalities (Bələdiyyəsi).

International standard ISO 3166-2 was published on December 15, 1998. It superseded ISO/DIS 3166-2 (draft international standard), which came out in fall 1996. Change Notice 1 for FIPS PUB 10-4 is dated December 1, 1998. All three of these documents show Azerbaijan divided into units of three kinds: one autonomous republic, ten or eleven cities, and sixty-some rayons, or districts. They differ on the exact numbers.

Update 10 to Geopolitical Entities and Codes (formerly FIPS 10-4) is dated 2012-12-31. It corrects the spelling of Mingəevir.

Update 9 to Geopolitical Entities and Codes is dated 2012-09-01. It includes changes to the codes for Azerbaijan.

The Azeri alphabet includes some characters from the Turkish alphabet, as well as the schwa (Ə, ə). The Azerbaijan post office website listed names using the order ... D, Ə, F, ....

I moved information about the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic to this page, since it now seems unlikely that it will unite with Armenia.

Armenia and the NKAO had no common border, but were only separated by a few kilometers of Azerbaijani territory. This was by design of the Soviet government. The NKR now extends to the borders of Armenia and Iran, having gained territory from Azerbaijan, while losing three smaller areas that were part of the NKAO. According to the government of the NKR, it is divided into seven regions and one city.

Additionally, Azerbaijan is subdivided into 9 (economic) regions (İqtisadi Rayonar; sing.– İqtisadi Rayonu).[1] This is not an administrative division. Each region contains a number of districts. The Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic forms a separate, the 10th economic region.