The building’s three principal elevations were in red stock brick, with steps and landings in Whitworth stone, and enriched work including the plaque above the main entrance in Ruabon terrecotta. Sea-green slate from Tilberthwaite quarry in the Lake District was used for the roof.
A Heywood church will be celebrating its 175th anniversary in style as it prepares to open its doors for the first time as part of the Heritage Open Weekend this September.
Over in Middleton, history enthusiasts will be marking Golden Cluster Month with its four key historical buildings, the St Leonard's Parish Church, the Queen Elizabeth I Grammar School, the Olde Boar's Head and the Long Street Methodist Church, all opening on Tuesday and Friday afternoons from 1-4pm throughout September.
All children are offered the opportunity to attend a taster day before joining the school and for those pupils who are starting school for the first time, a full programme of familiarisation and preparation takes place during the Summer Term.
Julian Jefferson, Head of Link4Life Arts and Heritage service, added: "The fantastic heritage offer we have in Rochdale is hard to beat. We're really excited about this year's¬†programme, which will give locals the chance to explore our better known historical buildings as well as hidden gems in unlikely places."
Full details can be found in the Candidate Pack:
At Heywood Prep we have an open door policy, inviting prospective parents to Contact Us at any time throughout the year to arrange a visit to the school to meet the Headmaster, Guy Barrett. We also hold a number of Open Days and events throughout the year providing further opportunities for prospective parents to see Heywood Prep in action.
Due to strong demand for places in our Nursery, priority is given to children who commit to continue through to our Reception class.
This book is not concerned with the workings of the Technical School. It provided mainly evening classes in "Science, Technology, Commercial and Domestic subjects", with the Art School operating separately. It is worthwhile, however, to consider the building itself, as it formed the basis of that which would eventually house the Secondary School, and its design and detail dictated the way in which it was subsequently extended.
The LEC at first accepted the situation, and suggested that Heywood satisfy itself with a Higher Elementary School rather than a Secondary School, but the local council was defiant. Claiming that at least 100 pupils aged from 12 to 16 would attend a Secondary School, they canvassed support wherever they could.
TEACHING ASSISTANT (P/T) - closing date 30th September 2016
Alderman Healey presented Mr Snape with a commemorative key, and the M.P. unlocked the door and declared the School open. There followed a seemingly interminable number of speeches, but eventually the party embarked on a tour of inspection, and Heywood officially had a Technical School.
From the Hind Hill Street entrance, reached by way of a short flight of steps, a corridor led to the various classrooms, used for the teaching of cookery, commercial subjects and science, and a large Lecture Room measuring 60ft x 30ft. Just inside the entrance, on the left, was a room used for secretarial work, and down a short passage a handsomely appointed Committee Room.
They were able to claim popular support, but in March 1907 the Board wrote that it was unable to accept the need for such a school, as the number of children likely to benefit was small, and efficient schools existed in Bury and Rochdale.
Our most recent inspection report described us as "a welcoming, friendly and open community. As a result of feeling safe and well looked after, pupils thrive and challenge themselves to reach their full potential."
Heywood Technical School was opened on 1st December 1894, on a site bordered by Hind Hill Street, Pine Street, and what was then known as the Market Ground. The building, which also contained an Art School, was only half the size of that which eighteen years later would be opened as the new Heywood Day Secondary School, to be re-named twelve years after that as Heywood Grammar School.
Details of our Fees can be found in the document below. All admissions are subject to our Admissions Policy and Terms & Conditions.
Not only the size of the School would change. Few of its present neighbours were to be seen. The Free Library would not open until 1906, New Church Sunday School 1914, the Memorial Gardens 1926, the Police Station 1936, and the Civic Hall not until 1966.
Across the borough, old favourites including the Regal Moon and Rochdale Town Hall will be opening alongside the recently refurbished Pioneers museum, which has a full¬†programme of events and activities for all ages. Visitors can also find out all about Rochdale's untold stories by participating in a Heritage Trail which sets off from Touchstones Rochdale on Saturday 14 September 2pm-3.30pm. Visitors can book on 01706 924928.
Pay for 8 rounds and get the next one FREE
The cost of the extension, including necessary alterations to the existing building, but excluding the cost of the Art Gallery and Museum, was £8700.
Heywood Prep is a caring, friendly community in which happy children discover a love of learning and the confidence to fulfil their potential.
St James Church in Tower Street will join 31 other stunning sites across the borough which will be showing off their history as part of the national Heritage Open Day event, which celebrates England's culture and architecture.
If you would like your child to be considered for admission, please complete a Registration Form. Admission to Heywood Prep is at the discretion of the Headmaster and completion of a Registration Form does not guarantee that a place will be offered.
Organised by volunteers and supported by the Heritage Open Days National Partnership, Rochdale Borough Council, Link4Life and Middleton Heritage and Conservation Group, Heritage Open Days is England's biggest and most popular cultural event.
Discover how imagination, inspiration and fun make an education at Heywood Prep out of this world!
We are an†independent prep school and nursery, for boys and girls aged two to eleven,†located in the heart of Corsham, Wiltshire, with two acres of beautiful gardens where children play and explore.
At the end of the corridor, the stone staircase with oak newel and handrails led down to the basement and up to the first floor. A number of mullioned and transomed windows illuminated the staircase.
Also taking part for the first time in Heywood this year is All Souls Parish Church in Rochdale Road East which boasts stained glass and a carved reredos depicting the last supper.
Councillor Jacquie Beswick, Cabinet member for Place and Regulation at Rochdale Borough Council, said: "Last year's Heritage Open Days attracted record breaking numbers to our borough, with 3,600 people coming to explore our past. With exciting new additions like St James Church on the programme, we're expecting this year to be even bigger and better."
Click for details of our next Open Day or contact the school to make an appointment on 01249 713379 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
After demolition of the "old and dilapidated" houses which occupied the site, borings were made by the Borough Engineer, Mr Diggle, and the ground was found to be unstable, necessitating extra depth for the foundations. The Architects overcame this apparent drawback by building the bottom floor as a basement, but only partly below street level, with light assured by keeping the ground floor above street level, and by leaving open areas round three sides of the building.
The Architects, who both designed the School and supervised its construction, were Woodhouse and Willoughby of King Street, Manchester, and the Clerk of Works was Mr Robert Hardman of Heywood.
The Education Act of 1902 placed responsibility for education on newly-formed Local Education Authorities(LEA). In the case of Heywood, the town council was the LEA for Elementary Education, but Lancashire County Council was appointed as the LEA responsible for Secondary Education in the town.
Taking place from 12-15 September, visitors can plan their activities using the free events programme listing all the locations which are taking part this year, along with their opening times. This will be available from the Visitor Information Centre at Touchstones Rochdale. A printable copy of the guide will also be available online at www.rochdale.gov.uk/events ¬†and www.link4life.org/whatson¬†
More photos of the band can be found on our Facebook page
For those familiar with the much larger building of later years, the Technical School building extended only from the Hind Hill Street elevation to a point just beyond the Pine Street entrance and the internal staircase.
Admission to Heywood Prep is open to all who meet our entry requirements, regardless of gender, race, religious, socio-economic or cultural background. We cater for all academic needs at Heywood Prep and are non-selective, although children joining us from another school will normally be asked to attend an informal assessment and a reference may be sought from the child's current/most recent school.
The site was chosen for its central location, and because there was land available in Pine Street for any extension which might be necessary. This foresight was to be rewarded in later years, as it was possible to expand the old building, rather than acquire a new site and build afresh.
Further delays occurred over the application to the Local Government Board by the LEC to grant borrowing powers to fund the building work, but at last, in May 1909, the borrowing application was approved. Even so it was January 1910 before sanction to borrow was received. Three months later the tender of Samuel Barker of Heywood for the building of the extension was accepted. Mr W D Spedding was appointed Clerk of Works with effect from 4th July and the work could begin.