Build your own itineraries by clicking the button to add an item to your Itinerary basket.
Brim-full of nostalgic, old-world seaside charm, Broadstairs boasts glorious beaches and bays, famous literary connections and wealth of inviting cafes, restaurants and bars.
The Abbey School is a Business and Enterprise Academy formed in September 1983 by the amalgamation of the Ethelbert Road Boys School and Lady Capel School for Girls. It has over 1000 pupils and is located in the south of the town, beside the A2 London Road.
A shipyard was established in Faversham by James Pollock & Sons (Shipbuilders) in 1916 at the request of Lord Fisher, the First Lord of The Admiralty, for manufacturing barges for landing craft. Faversham already had a tradition of shipbuilding, and it soon became a major contributor to markets throughout the world, producing vessels such as the Molliette and the Violette, both constructed of concrete. Over 1200 ships were built and launched from Faversham between 1916 and 1969.
Faversham Cottage Hospital opened in 1887. It was extended in 1922 and included a World War I memorial, which was unveiled by Vice Admiral Hugh Evan-Thomas. The memorial was later adapted to commemorate World War II casualties. In 2014, the memorial became Grade II listed.
Faversham is within the Swale local government district. The town contains the four electoral wards of Abbey, Davington Priory, St Ann's and Watling. The town has absorbed several former civil parishes such as Buckland-by-Faversham and Faversham Without, and created new parishes in the area including Graveney, Luddenham, Oare and Sheldwich.
Visit Britain's oldest brewer, see how beer is made, discover a 300 year heritage and sample award...
Somewhere to stay Brenley Farm Read more
Windswept marshes inhabited by many breeding wetland birds, marsh frogs, insects and aquatic...
In 2011 it was discovered that the town owns an original version of Magna Carta, potentially worth about £20m, rather than a copy worth only £10,000. In 2015, the copy went on display to the general public at the town's Alexander Centre – the first time it had been on display for 715 years.
The Royal Cinema is based near the town square. It opened in 1936 and is now Grade II listed. It is one of only two mock Tudor cinemas to survive in the UK.
Faversham Town Council and the Faversham Area Tourism Association have produced two very handy guides, which can be downloaded as a pdf files Faversham Area Groups Guide 2016 and Visit Faversham Area Guide 2016
A delight whatever the time of year, Faversham is bursting with history dating back to late prehistoric times. Mentioned in The Domesday Book, it is known as the oldest market town in Kent. Faversham is a fascinating town for a day trip or a short break.
Salmarshes, grazing marshes, creeks, wildfowl and waders, walks and birdwatching forms part of the...
South East England's only preserved narrow-gauge former industrial railway and features the longest...
Faversham holds events throughout the year. From our famous Transport Weekend and Hop Festival to smaller, lesser known festivals
A late 18thC country house designed by Samuel Wyatt, seat of the Harris family since 1801. Harris...
Faversham Town F.C. were formed in 1884 and compete in Division One South of the Isthmian League. They have a 2000-seat stadium to the south of the town and are the only team besides the England national football team to wear the 3 lions badge. The King George V playing fields are all that remain of the Mount Field, which in 1876 hosted a first-class match between Kent and Hampshire County Cricket Club.
Faversham holds a UK weather record. The UK's highest ever temperature was recorded on 10 August 2003, 38.5 °C (101.3 °F). This was the first time the temperature had ever exceeded 100 °F (38 °C) in the UK.
Hop on board one of the county’s glorious steam trains and explore the Garden of England from a whole new perspective.
Tourist Information Centre, Fleur de Lis Heritage Centre 13 Preston Street, Faversham, Kent ME13 8NS Tel: 01795 534542 Email: email@example.com
Faversham Market is still held in the town centre. It is now the oldest street market in Kent, dating back over 900 years. Monthly markets are also held in Preston Street and Court Street.
The South-East's leading food hall Macknade Fine Foods is set on a 170 year history of food. With Food and drink provided by local bsinesses, they also offer a wide array of international foods. Whilst browsing the food hall, visit the cafe at Macknade. With wonderful food, fine teas and coffees and the best part, have a slice of homemade cake.
The countryside around Faversham is prime pub-walk territory. Explore the high ground of the Kent Downs AONB, perhaps at age-old Perry Woods, before heading to the Plough Inn at Stalisfield Green for classy food and expansive views. The area’s walking and cycling trails wind through some of the county’s most delicious countryside and finest orchards, woodlands, marshes and nature reserves.
Farmers Market run by small-scale farmers, producers, growers and bakers themselves. Most food is...
The Faversham Society was established in 1962, and is one of the oldest Civic Societies in the UK. It owns and manages the Fleur de Lis Heritage Centre as its headquarters. The Centre hosts a large museum depicting the town's history and culture and hosts the town's Visitor Information Centre, including a bookshop.
An 800 acre site set in an area of outstanding natural beauty – perfect for fishing, cycling and boating or simply soaking up the pretty view.
Due to the poor quality of roads in the Middle Ages, travel by sea was an important transport corridor. Richard Tylman (or Tillman), mayor in 1581, expanded the port at Faversham, building two wharfs. He became a key figure in exporting corn, wheat and malt to London from the town.
Faversham is roughly equidistant between Sittingbourne and Canterbury. It lies 48 miles (77 km) east of London, 18 miles (29 km) east north east of Maidstone and 13 miles (21 km) from Ashford. Nearby villages include Oare across Oare Creek to the north, Luddenham, Mockbeggar and Ospringe.
2016: Finalist in the National Visit England Awards for Excellence in the...
The Maison Dieu ('House of God'), located on the A2 to the southwest of the town centre, is a hospital, monastery, hostel, retirement home and Royal lodge commissioned by Henry III in 1234 and now in the care of English Heritage. It is now managed by the Maison Dieu Trust and closely associated to the Faversham Society as a museum of Roman artefacts from the surrounding area.
1-5 Springfield Mount, Leeds West, Yorkshire, LS2 9NG
Head to the Hythe Imperial on 8th October for an unmissable tribute of the coolest cats of all time ruling the Las Vegas & Hollywood during the 50's and 60's.
The absolute minimum temperature of −17.8 °C (0.0 °F) was set in January 1985.
Serving home-cooked food, craft beers and offering an outside terrace, exclusive venue hire, weddings and winter pop ups.
Kent is an ideal short break or holiday destination, and offers a wide choice of accommodation to suit all tastes and budgets
Somewhere to stay Faversham Creek Hotel Read more
Let Dr Andrew Thomson be your guide to history and culture either side of the channel.
As you walk along the Whitstable front you will come to grassy banks that gently slope down to the...
Davington Priory lies to the northwest of the town centre and was founded in the mid 12th century. It is currently owned and occupied by musician and activist Bob Geldof.