The UEFA word, the UEFA Futsal Cup logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Pot 3 – seeding position 3Lynx FC (GIB)KF Tirana (ALB)Valletta FC (MLT)*ASA Tel-Aviv (ISR)*

Energy, Győr and Kremlin Bicêtre all have elite round experience while Brezje won all three of their preliminary round games on debut.

Bye to elite round (draw 21 October)Ugra Yugorsk (RUS, holders)Kairat Almaty (KAZ)Inter FS (ESP)FC Dynamo (RUS)

Group 4 (Wednesday to Saturday): Ekonomac Kragujevac (SRB)*, LSN Lida (BLR), Nacional Zagreb (CRO), Athina '90 (GRE)

"Maribor showed again why we are the best in Slovenia and why we are so present in Europe," Ante Šimundža said amid jubilant scenes with over 10,000 supporters. "The stadium gives us the extra energy that we need. The crowd pushed us to this title. It was not easy but it was deserved."

The following managers have won at least one trophy when in charge of Maribor after the independence of Slovenia in 1991:

It completes an impressive turnaround for Šimundža's side, who were nine points adrift of leaders Domžale after 16 games of the 36-round season while they juggled UEFA Champions League commitments.

2016/17 entrants*DebutantsPreliminary roundPot 1 – hostsSievi Futsal (FIN, seeding position 1) Brezje Maribor (SVN, 1)*FC Encamp (AND, 2)Classic Chisinau (MDA, 3)*Military Futsal Team (MNE, 3)*SC Kaiserebersdorf (AUT, 3)*ASUE Yerevan (ARM, 3)FC Baltija (LTU, 4)*

Ekonomac and Nacional are both more than familiar with the elite round and Lida also got there last season. Athina have only managed to make it through from this stage once, despite this being their joint-record 14th entry in the UEFA Futsal Cup.

Group 6 (Tuesday to Friday): EP Chrudim (CZE)*, City'US Târgu Mureş (ROU), Pinerola Bratislava (SVK), APOEL Nicosia (CYP)

Pot 8 – seeding position 3Pinerola Bratislava (SVK)*Nacional Zagreb (CRO)

The last two of the eight to be drawn will be placed in seeding position 3 of first available groups

While holders Ugra Yugorsk and fellow top seeds Kairat Almaty, Inter FS and FC Dynamo have byes to the elite round, the other contenders will find out their first opponents in the opening draw. That will include the first ever entrants from San Marino and Kosovo, who are among the 32 clubs kicking off in next month's preliminary round.

Pot 2 – seeding position 4AFM Futsal Maniacs (SUI)*FC Cosmos (EST)*Cardiff University Futsal Club (WAL)Wattcell Futsal Club (SCO)*Munsbach (LUX)*FC Feniks (KOS)*Tre Fiori (SMR)*

Group 1 (Wednesday to Saturday): ETO Győr (HUN), Kremlin Bicêtre United (FRA), Energy Lviv (UKR)*, Brezje Maribor (SVN)

Main roundPot 6 – hostsEkonomac Kragujevac (SRB, 1)EP Chrudim (CZE, 1)Zelezarec Skopje (MKD, 2)Grand Pro Varna (BUL, 2)Energy Lviv (UKR, 3)Real Rieti (ITA, 3)*

Join the European football family today! Get involved with games, competitions and much more.

NK Maribor are Slovene First League champions for the fifth successive season and 13th time in all after moving eight points clear with two games remaining.

Sporting CP and Araz Naxçıvan are among the teams in action when the UEFA Futsal Cup main round is played between Tuesday and Saturday.

Subject to confirmation from UEFA, Maribor will enter the UEFA Champions League second qualifying round.

To leave a comment, please log in using any of these accounts:

Chrudim have safely navigated this round every season since 2007/08 and Târgu Mureş also possess a fine pedigree in this competition. By contrast, these are Pinerola's first European fixtures.

Group 5 (Wednesday to Saturday): Sporting CP (POR), Halle-Gooik (BEL), Real Rieti (ITA)*, Centar Sarajevo (BIH)

Sporting were runners-up in 2011 and have been among the last four on three other occasions. Halle-Gooik advanced to the elite round on debut last term while this is a European bow for Rieti, whose compatriots Montesilvano beat Sporting in the 2011 final in Almaty.

The UEFA Futsal Cup preliminary and main round draws will be streamed live on from 14CEST on Thursday, with 48 clubs involved in the ceremony in Nyon.

Elite round played: 22–27 NovemberFour-team knockout finals: late Apri

Group 2 (Tuesday to Friday): Araz Naxçıvan (AZE), Zelezarec Skopje (MKD)*, FC Feniks (KOS), Tbilisi State University (GEO)

Join the European football family today! Get involved with games, competitions and much more.

Elite round & Final tournament• The top two in each of the six groups will join the four top seeds (holders Ugra Yugorsk and former winners Kairat Almaty, Inter FS and FC Dynamo) in the elite round draw on 21 October.• The four elite round group winners, to be decided between 22 and 27 November, will compete in the final tournament in late April, with the hosts picked from among them.

A 1-0 victory over NK Domžale sealed the title, but they were made to work for it after Daniel Vujcic was sent off just after the hour with the score 0-0. League top scorer Tavares struck soon after though, his 17th of the season, and that proved enough to secure the points.

Note: Flags indicate staff member's primary nationality. They may hold more than one secondary nationalities.


Note: Flags indicate national team as defined under FIFA eligibility rules. Players may hold more than one non-FIFA nationality.

In the 2015–16 season, Maribor was eliminated from the European competitions after just two matches, being defeated by Astana in the second qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League, meaning the club failed to advance to the third qualifying round of the competition for the first time after the 2003–04 season.[61][62] In the same season, Maribor failed to win the domestic title for the first time since 2009–10 after finishing in the second place behind Olimpija Ljubljana.[63]

Pot 7 – seeding position 4Preliminary round winners Groups A to H

Pot 9 – seeding position 2LSM Lida (BLR)Halle-Gooik (BEL)Kremlin-Bicêtre United (FRA)City'US Târgu Mureş (ROU)

Pot 10 – seeding position 1Sporting CP (POR)Araz Naxçıvan (AZE)ETO Győr (HUN)Nikars Riga (LVA)

The top two in each group join the four teams given byes to the elite round

The 2003–04 Slovenian Cup was the last trophy won by Maribor before the darkest era of the club began. Between 2004 and 2008, the club was plagued by financial difficulties, and Maribor even came close to being disbanded at one point.[27] However, the club did not follow their rivals Olimpija Ljubljana and Mura on that path.[27]

Araz finished third in 2010 and 2014 and are back in this competition after a one-season gap. Zelezarec made the elite round last term at the seventh time of asking while first Kosovan entrants Feniks and fellow newcomers Tbilisi came through the preliminary round.